Trust

Cycle day 13 monitoring.

I feel like a beast.

Longest. Monitoring. Cycle. Ever.  I guess 4 blood tests and ultrasounds in 10 days will do that to you. To be fair 3 of them have been in the last 5 days so you get my drift.

Lets talk numbers shall we?

E2 was 138, which more than doubled since Saturday. No FSH reading today, LH is 14.9, which weirdly is lower than it was on Saturday, p4 is .88 and the follicle in my right ovary is now 13 mm.

I talked to the Dr. today, because I didn’t know if I should continue with this cycle since it seems so much slower growing, and lower than the last 4. He wants to do an egg retrieval on Thursday. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do it, and I asked him point-blank if this is some kind of psychological boost to waste a retrieval on a crappy egg, he laughed said “no its starting to look like a very good cycle” and that he would encourage me to go through with it. To be clear, I’m the one that said crappy, my Dr. is a civilized human being and he doesn’t swear.

I covered it some time ago, but I drive him crazy because I question everything. He probably hates me. Have I mentioned I have trust issues? Yeah. I might have a teensy problem with that. I know, I know…I owe a lot of people apologies.

So its scheduled for 9:45 Thursday morning, Clomid again tonight, Lupron shot tomorrow night at 10:45pm.

Back to the remedial class with patience, trust, and positive thinking. Just when I was doing so well with it, I totally back-slid and got all snarky von crankypants. I may need a firmware upgrade. All previous versions have come with sarcasm, cynicism, snark and swearing as features.

Maybe they should no longer be called “features”, be properly identified as bugs and be removed from the next iteration. I wonder if I can add that to the PRD without getting called out for scope creep.

9 comments on “Trust

  1. Daryl says:

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with you. Your snark cracks me up!

    So Thursday. That’s good. Maybe this cycle will surprise you with another perfect blast!

    • Jeanette says:

      Im glad my willingness to embarrass myself is making someone laugh! Besides Id feel pretty stupid sitting here giggling like a lunatic at my own wit. Which I do sometimes. :p

      Considering earlier today I nearly chucked this cycle altogether, I hope that my little underachieving egg grows a little bigger, makes it through the retrieval, gets fertilized and decides to become an overachiever like my husband.

      You’re really kind and great support, thank you!

  2. Just saying hi, that I’m following you. I just started yesterday officially. We live a good hour away from where we’ll be doing ultrasounds, so I’m thinking of pitching a tent outside the place when it’s time.

    Humor and sarcasm are my outlets too. I read this article the other day about how to prep for IVF, and I’m supposed to meditate and use a happy mantra, like ‘pregnancy’. But I prefer irony as a better salve.

    And while I can’t add to your tech-metaphor. I like it a lot.

    • Jeanette says:

      Thank you for the comments and the follow! Im already following you guys, a group of really well spoken intelligent women. LOVE it!

      I dont think I write very well in comparison but I do have to laugh at my story, because my life is nearly unrecognizable to me from 6 months ago.

      When are you starting? Most of the time you are not monitored as often as I have been this month. But be prepared, for the clinic to not have your protocol perfect immediately. Sometimes it takes a bit.

      If you are looking for a resource to get your questions answers you might consider http://www.fertilethoughts.com. They are very helpful, and knowledgeable.

      Thank you again for the follow! Its truly my pleasure!

  3. Louisa says:

    I think the questions you ask show you are an informed consumer not a bad patient. If your doctor is any good he welcomes these questions. And I hope he is good and right about this egg. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

