Mandarin, Yoga & Acupuncture OH MY!

I’ve been taking Mandarin at the local Chinese school. In fact, last nights class was the first class of this quarter or whatever it is the kids call it now.

I’ve taken Mandarin classes before, in fact I took one at the local college but got really discouraged because it was a class of you know, college kids, who were all Chinese who were taking the class for an easy A and spent all their time trying to cheat off my paper. That’s right, I said it. Cheat off the white girls paper. The only non-Chinese in the class and they want to copy off me? I’m sorry, but am I the only one that sees the irony here? I’m still the only white person in the class, and the teacher seems to like seeing me squirm so she called on me a lot last night.

I’m still looking for a good yoga class. If anyone has any suggestions on what type or method of yoga would be good, I’d appreciate the feedback!

I went to acupuncture today, got pinned, adjusted and by adjusted I mean cracked, had some kind of electrodes hooked up to my left bun and right leg that is supposed to help relax the spasms. And a lecture about not eating enough. Thank god for him though, I’d look like the hunchback of Orange County without him.

Something happens to me after acupuncture, everything feels all loose and fuzzy, my eyes get heavy and I wind up with an overwhelming desire to take a nap. Only I don’t sleep well during the daytime. The problem isn’t falling asleep, it’s that I wake up with my cheek covered in drool, not sure where I am or what my name is. Then I can never sleep at night. Sometimes I cry during the sessions, for reasons not always clear to me. Which also leaves me feeling a little vulnerable and raw after.

My cycle is now so messed up from the freak show of last cycle, and the Provera I have no idea what cycle day I am on, or what I should be listening to for the Circle and Bloom Meditations. I have 5 more days of Provera, probably another 5 or 6 days before shark week starts again, and who knows if after such a short cycle there will be follicles. Just one, normal, not scary cycle where I have a few follicles that become eggs in the proper timeline is it really so much to ask for?  The crazy of the last few months has been wearing on me. Other than giving my ovaries a stern talking to, I’m not really sure what else I can do. Plus since when did they ever listen to me any way.

My mother was in the hospital last week, diagnosed with congestive heart failure. It’s what my father passed away from so I know that while she may not pass tomorrow or the next day, the clock is ticking and its time to resolve whatever issues I/we have with each other. There are also some spots on her liver and kidneys that the Dr.’s say she requires chemo for but she has refused treatment. We are planning a trip to see her in the next few weeks.

A lot changes in a week. I know I need to refocus, and deal with one thing at a time, but right now I’m not even sure where to begin. Except I promised Dr Paul, I’d begin with dinner. So I will start there. I am nothing if not a person of my word.

4 comments on “Mandarin, Yoga & Acupuncture OH MY!

  1. Daryl says:

    I’m so sorry your mom isn’t doing well. I hope you get a chance to make peace with each other. How far away does she live?

    You certainly have a lot going on right now. Just remember to keep breathing, and that you can only do one thing at a time.

    I hope you next cycle is low-drama to make up for all the other stuff!

  2. Deborah says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your mother. That is so difficult, especially when you have so much going on. I hope you two can create some very special moments together when you see her next and the past gets resolved.
    There are so many types of yoga. I loved the Kundalini Yoga classes I took when I was in CA, but don’t know if that is too far out for you. I also liked Hatha. I did hot yoga (Bikram) with my husband, and although each time he swears at me throughout the class as he is dripping in sweat, he leaves the class telling me how good he feels.

    You and your Mom are in my prayers

  3. queenelizabethi says:

    Sorry your mother is ill, thinking of you both.

Leave a Reply

