Molly

I have a little information about my Egg Retrieval this morning. The egg was still there, they got it, it wasn’t a cyst, and it wasn’t degenerated, but it also wasn’t mature. An immature egg can’t be fertilized so it has to mature before anything else can happen.

It looked sort of like this picture on the surgery room monitor, though I didn’t see it through the microscope and this is a 3d image. The little speckles are red blood cells.

Molly, the embryologist from Joy of an Embryo Sitter was part of the retrieval team today, and while   at first I couldn’t tell who she was, because everyone including me, has on those blue hair covers and masks on, I couldn’t look at her too long because I was afraid I’d cry. Shes been incredibly nice to me and really been a good friend.

I’ve never had an immature egg survive in the lab before (and I’ve had a few) so we will see what happens. Molly said she would try, and she’s a very kind earnest sort of person so I know she will try her best.

This picture is what a mature egg looks like.

Either way I’m looking ahead, so Monday I will start Provera (Oh Yay! and by Yay I mean oh FFS) for 10 days and a few days later shark week will arrive and the Circus will begin again.

In the meantime, I will hopefully keep you entertained with some non fertility related stuff. Get some packages to the post office that are long past due going out, maybe try to catch up on my sleep and start trying to eat more often.

Thank you again to everyone who has hoped for me. I sincerely, genuinely thank you and appreciate it.

6 comments on “Molly

  1. queenelizabethi says:

    I’m curious, how do they make an egg mature in the lab? Or am I reading this wrong? I assume that’s why they would retrieve an immature egg, because they have some sort of plans for it…

  2. Daryl says:

    I hope your little egg grows up in the lab! But it sounds like eating and sleeping are the priority for you. Take care of yourself and buckle up for the next ride!

    • Jeanette says:

      I want to hope but things haven’t gone my way in quite a while so I will try to be as objective as I can.

      The egg is the priority, but I do need to do a better job of taking care of myself.

      Thanks for the seatbelt reminder. I need that too!

  3. Theresa says:

    Grow egg grow!!!

Leave a Reply

