Bridget Jones

I realized today that this IVF process has changed me. In some good ways and some bad ways but it’s changed me.

Think of it as my Bridget Jones List of trying to conceive via ART.

Comment translation:

  • g – good
  • vg – very good
  • vvg – very very good
  • nvg – not very good
  1. I no longer read gossip sites like Perez Hilton and Dlisted. Now I read a lot of infertility blog posts. g
  2. I watch enough trash reality tv that it’s really embarrassing. nvg
  3. I no longer care about anything any Kardashian as doing as long as my ovaries are not as empty as any of their head. vg
  4. I’ve eaten more fruit and vegetables in the last year than I have in my whole life (thanks for contributing this one husband) vvg
  5. I’m willing to try things like fertility yoga and meditation, things I’d have rolled my eyes at a year ago. g
  6. I’m willing to drink things that are abhorrent to me like huge glasses of wheat-grass. *this is really questionable*
  7. More people have seen the Queen Victoria in the last 7-8 months than have in my entire life.  nvg
  8. I’ve tried and continued with acupuncture. Even though sometimes I think he puts the one in my head there, to let the evil out. vg
  9. I take enough vitamins to choke myself, and sometimes do. g
  10. I’ve give up my beloved Diet Coke.  vg
  11. I’ve yelled at my RE. *Not my proudest moment I can assure you*  nvg
  12. I started a Peer Support Group for my clinic and omg people actually joined. g
  13. I have learned an entirely new set of acronyms and practically a whole other language *again, questionable*
  14. I actually get impatient for Shark Week to start so I can try again. *possibly indicates insanity*
  15. I’ve met, even if it’s just online, some of the best people I’ve ever known in my life. vvg!
  16. I have major control issues, I’m impatient and have a forked tongue. nvg
  17. The support offered by the blogging community has been amazing. Really. AMAZING. vvg!

The point of this journey is to wind up with a baby. It’s still my sole purpose, but I do think that for all its ups and downs, there have been some really special things that have happened a long the way. Somehow, fear and all, I do find the ability to hope, at least a little every month. Why else would I continue trying?

Bitter en Zoet *one of my most favorite bloggers!* made a comment to me last month “Magical Things Happen at the Circus”.  I try to think of that when I’m feeling particularly down.

One more Provera pill until the Circus begins again!

6 comments on “Bridget Jones

  1. Daryl says:

    Agreed! Who knew such amazing things could happen as part of such a shitty process? My husband is actually becoming slightly annoyed at how much time I spend with a computer on my lap–which is fine, really, because I used to be annoyed at him for the same thing. Now we’re even.

    I’m glad you’ve seen some positive changes, along with all the other stuff. It’s what makes the other stuff bearable, I think.

  2. Louisa says:

    I loved that book–definately vg. Glad the support has been vg as well.

  3. John M from the Tim & Doug Fan Page. says:

    Don’t worry about the trash reality TV. Escapism, in whatever form it comes, serves a purpose. It beats getting snot-slinging drunk.

    Watching a contrived event like “Iron Chef” is analogous to watching Wile E. Coyote fall 500 feet and make a deep hole in the desert floor where he hits.

    Escape to your heart’s content. In stressful times, it could help you maintain your grip on sanity. 😉

  4. Haha! Love this post. Bridget’s lists were always so funny, and this one is too. vvg!

Leave a Reply

