Fathers Day 2012

Husband is sleeping in this morning. If you consider sleeping past 6:30 sleeping in. I went to bed before he did so I’m up and chipper and ready to go and he’s still got that face on him that says “what the HELL is WRONG with you? So I’m letting him rest.

Were going looking for an antique Japanese lantern thingy today. For the yard. It’s what he wants for Fathers Day. Since the unfortunate sunburn incident from Mothers Day, this requires me to be hosed down with 70 sunscreen, like I’m 4 (with roughly the same amount of whining), and me wearing a hat. If it were up to him, Id also be wearing on of those Chinese lady visor/welders masks, and carrying an umbrella. Even though I am the crazy one, OBVIOUSLY,  I have to draw the line somewhere.

He’s just lucky my hat isn’t one of those Hatfield & McCoy hats, because that was a HAT. Kevin Costner couldn’t make it work, there’s no way I can.

Its been an uneventful week.

By uneventful, I mean stepdaughter finished the 10th grade, and left for Hong Kong for the next 10 days. It’s the first time we wont have her on Fathers Day and Husband is sad. In the next few days she will also turn 16, and we will miss that as well. Don’t ask, it’s not supposed to be like this but her mother can be really unreasonable sometimes and somehow we got Shanghaied into it.

I also mean I made a new friend, in person, for the first time in as long as I can remember. Shes fanfreakingtastic! HUGE SHOUTOUT!

I dropped a bottle of nail polish in the bathtub which was not very good as my bathtub is white, and my nail polish is red and now even though I’ve cleaned it up, as much as I can, it still, slightly resembles a crime scene.

I finished the Provera and Shark Week should be here any minute. I was hoping maybe Friday but as usual my ovaries are doing whatever they want. Like the anarchists they are, obscene gestures and all, it is still not here.

I know I have a penchant for waxing mushy about my husband but he’s such a great Dad. He helps his daughter with school projects, he loves her to pieces, is encouraging, is patient and kind and funny with her. They look exactly alike and she’s an incredible kid.

I’m not jealous, but I want that. I want him to be a Dad again, and I want the opportunity to do it with him. He sets the bar pretty high but honestly, because of him, because of all these years of learning from him, I think it would make me a better mother.

Happy Fathers Day to all of you, if you are a Dad, have a Dad, or someday hope to be a Dad, Happy Fathers Day! I hope it’s a beautiful one.

Leave a Reply

