Not Quite

Today is day 5 of my embryo’s development. I feel like I might be jinxing myself by writing, so I considered waiting, but I promised full disclosure about my journey.

I was told this afternoon that it has passed the Morula stage and was now something called an “Early Blastocyst” which means I needs to develop some more and expand before its considered a blast worth freezing. In women under 40, more than 90% of early blasts make it to blastocyst but in women over 40 because there are more occurrences of chromosomal abnormalities, sometimes they arrest at early blast. I will know more by Thursday.

If it arrests, well ok. It was probably an alien, if it doesn’t then I’m 1 step closer!

5 more days of Provera and Estrace and then a few days before a new cycle begins.

9 comments on “Not Quite

  1. Deborah says:

    THe waiting is so hard. I hope tomorrow brings you wonderful news!

  2. taylor says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed that your embryo makes it to freeze, and that it is chromosomally normal!

    “In women under 40, more than 90% of early blasts make it to blastocyst but in women over 40 because there are more occurrences of chromosomal abnormalities, sometimes they arrest at early blast. I will know more by Thursday.”

    Except if you are me. And at age 36-37, you only get 3 blasts out of 21, and one of those is abnormal. A whopping 9-14%.

    • Jeanette says:

      ugh! Im so sorry. I have 8 cycles under my belt and 2 blasts. but Im only getting one egg at a time so it feels like its taking forever.

      Do you know whats caused that for you? Have you done any transfers yet?

      Im so sorry. I know how hard it is, I do. And Im so sorry its hard for you too. I wouldnt wish it on anyone.

  3. Theresa says:

    grow embryo grow!

Leave a Reply

