Regularly Scheduled Programming

Its been a few weeks since my FET failed, where I felt like a huge failure.  That my life was one huge fail, and that it seemed like I would never do anything but fail. Not exactly a confidence booster. Not great for people like me, who don’t sleep on a good day, and don’t bother eating much when its a bad day.

I spun off into more feelings of failure, a very quick weight drop, a brief stint at the Urgent Care for extremely erratic and low heart rate, *34bpm* at its lowest, my baseline is between 70 and 74. Low blood ox, low blood pressure, a visit to my GP, more blood work, my retrieval cycle being cancelled, my first visit ever to a cardiologist, and the temporary installation of a heart monitor. Which I wore for 4 days and promptly took off, because it was itchy, sticky, giving me a rash, annoying and was ruining my clothes. Yes. I am a shitty patient. You could see it through my clothes. I looked like the first stage of becoming a borg. I’m not sure what that means. It’s what my friends husband said. He’s one of those Star Trek people.

I once dated a writer from Star Trek the Next Generation, but I kept pointing and laughing at him so we didn’t last long. Maybe it was because I didn’t really consider that to be a job. Or maybe I didn’t respect him enough. Whatever. I digress and that’s a story for another day.

Its Monday, my Endometrial Biopsy is on Wednesday afternoon, and I feel better. Not so dark and dismal as say 2 weeks ago. Not great really but better. I am functioning, eating, so you can stop yelling at me, and you know who you are. I’m taking my vitamins, trying to be healthier in my choices, which in my case means eating at mealtimes, and choosing fruits, vegetables and either chicken or fish.

Am I scared about the biopsy? No. I feel sort of wary, even though I’ve never had one before, and I don’t know anyone that’s ever had one before, I’ve faced enough “new stuff” each month of my IVF journey that I’ve survived, and I will survive this too.

Here’s my “take away” from the last 2 to 3 weeks. Note to self: Stop saying you’re not going to react badly when something bad happens to you. Because you can’t cure normal. Feeling shitty after the August I had, was not only normal it was a rational response to a series of really bad things happening.

As far as advice for people who try to support the person going through the bad things? Stop saying things like “get over it” and “just move forward”. It’s unfair, it’s unkind and frankly as a society we spend too much time trying to invalidate or medicate our way out of our feelings. Give me some time to breathe, give me some time to grieve. These feelings are hard, and piled up, they are overwhelming.

I’m not saying this to anyone in particular. I’m just saying it. *To be 100% clear, Paul, I’m not saying it to you*

I also had a couple of people who said “So are you going to quit now? I think its time you quit”. To you, I quote Theresa from “A Journey to the Finish Line” I don’t quit when I’m tired. I will quit when I’m done. I will decide when I’m done.

The things that helped me the most were hugs, listening when I was overwhelmed and crying. My husband reaching for my hand in the car. Touch, I think helped the most. There is a saying in Arabic that “you must hold on to the person who is grieving to remind them to stay with this world”

Arabic is general is very poetic and dramatic, so yes its an overstatement, but touch was what helped remind me of my responsibilities to the people who love me, and who I love back. To those of you that reached out and touched me, Thank you.

Now to abruptly switch subjects because I’ve reached my mush quota for the month, and because for all my talk about feelings, I’m still uncomfortable with a lot of mine. I’m happy summer crap tv is over. Because the sheer volume of it I’ve watched is mortifying. I can’t wait for the smart shows I usually watch to come back over the next few weeks.

Now, back to our regularly scheduled programming

15 comments on “Regularly Scheduled Programming

  1. taylor says:

    I had an endometrial biopsy. It was uncomfortable. But fine. I sucked down some codeine an hour or so before.

    • Jeanette says:

      I love you. I just snortlaughed. What did it do for you, the biopsy I mean?

      I dont have any codeine but I will take not to take some advil or something.

      • taylor says:

        I wanted to make sure I did not have inflammation or infection in my uterine lining, so that is why I requested the EB. I have also read that some doctors feel an EB prior to transfer helps with implantation, but I have not done much research on that. There is also discussion that the EB tests to see if your lining is missing the Beta 3 Integrin, however I don’t know much about that either.

  2. Daryl says:

    So glad to hear you’re getting back to better. You did have a really shitty August, and I think you handled it about as well as any human being could have. I had to wear one of those heart monitor thingies in high school (for the opposite reason–my heart was racing), and it was mortifying. But I hope whatever is going on is not too serious. Best of luck with the biopsy and the cardiologist. And here’s to smart tv!

  3. Theresa says:

    I love that quote. And, if you’d like to give me the names of those people who told you stupid things like ” get over it”, I’d be happy to send them a virtual poke in the eye 🙂

  4. If you have pain tolerance issues ask for a prescription from your dr…they should be more than willing to prescribe something…I hope the EB goes well

  5. Louisa says:

    I think I want to learn Arabic–what a lovely quote, so true. Sending you lots of love lady and the ability to vaporize anyone who tells you to quit or “get over it”.

Leave a Reply

