Underachiever

CD10 Monitoring
I’ve had this really uncomfortable pain that’s been radiating from my back to front on the left side. Last Friday I thought it was related to my  car accident, neck and back injury. Now a few days later, and after some exploratory poking around my stomach/uterus/left ovary area I realized that its my withered little almond-shaped ovary stretching to fit what feels like an angry little gnome. It’s weird how one little shift can cause my mid-back to spasm and me to feel like the hunchback of Orange County. I am very familiar with this pain, but not on my left side. Normally its on my right. My last retrieval was in early July, so its been more than 2 months since I had one. And since my left ovary is such a underachiever, it didn’t occur to me that it was “Excuse me, I’m trying to grow an egg in here” pain.

Lets see what the blood results and ultrasound show. My appointment its at 11am this morning.

Results:

1 follicle still on the left side, now 15mm, E2 180, up from 72, 4 days ago, which is perfect for retrieval. Generally you want an E2 of 200 or more for 1 follicle. P4 .31, LH 16.8. Follow up visit tomorrow, trigger either tomorrow or Thursday which would mean a retrieval on Friday or Saturday. I’m hoping Friday.

I have plans on Thursday morning with a friend for breakfast, which makes me incredibly happy,  I’ve been asked to give a cooking lesson for my other friends twins 8th birthday party for 14 little 8 year olds, and I have midterms coming for my classes. 2 of these things I’m really looking forward to. It’s amazing how much having something to look forward to can shift your perspective. My “pretty pink positive thoughts” plan is really working well.

I’m getting excited for Halloween! We get a million kids here and everyone in the neighborhood decks out their houses. I am trying to decide if I want to dress my dogs up like crayons, or the Travelocity gnome. (you might begin to notice a pattern. I like gnomes.) Don’t ask me why I don’t know.

Lets put it to a vote: Crayons or Gnomes?

What I do know is,  there’s a life lesson in the phrase “Never Roam Alone”

 

21 comments on “Underachiever

  1. Theresa says:

    crayons!!!! And grow follicle grow!!!

  2. Deborah says:

    that’s fantastic you’r going to give a cooking lesson. You are so multi-talented!
    I’m hoping for Friday for you too! and 2 votes for crayons

    • Jeanette says:

      Its not so much a cooking lesson as it is me making cookie dough a head of time, and herding 8 year olds into rolling it out and using cookie cutters, and then decorating them after.

      The crayons are totally winning!

      Thank you for always having something encouraging to say and for always taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it. More than you can possibly know.

  3. I like crayons! Good luck!

  4. Daryl says:

    Gnomes. Totally.

    Way to go, lefty! I guess she did wake up!

  5. Come on Lefty… we know Righty’s been getting all the attention but it’s your time to shine little wallflower!

    Count me in for crayons… Not that I’m anti-gnome, just pro-crayon. Actually come to think of it, I don’t care which you choose as long as you post photos of it. 🙂 I wish Halloween was more of a thing over here in Oz, I think in my 12 years in Sydney I’ve had maybe one kid come to the door (and I was suitably underprepared). Note to self: buy sweets just in case.

    • Jeanette says:

      oh I will post photos! Im not a big proponent of dressing my dogs but Halloween and Christmas are exempt from that. Halloween because well, its just awesome and Christmas because I have these outfits that make both of them look like that tiny dog from the grinch that stole Christmas. The tiny one that pulled that HUGE sled dressed as an elf. And who doesn’t laugh at that?

  6. Louisa says:

    Gnomes!!! So freaky and cute. Very nice numbers there good luck with the retrieval!

  7. cindy says:

    grow follie grow!!! I am also excited for halloween!!!

Leave a Reply

