La Bamba

My body is sensitive to the medications given for IVF. I become a crazy person on Clomid. I cry easily and often on Estrace and Provera, I can feel follicles growing on Menopur. All of them make my lower back hurt. I don’t know why, but I’ve learned to deal with it.

A full 9 days into the progesterone, the Estrace, and the progesterone in oil shots, my lower back is aching. It’s 3dp6dt and I feel good, as in I’m happy to be thinking I could am pregnant until proven otherwise. Other than a bloated rumbly feeling in my stomach, I’m doing fine. Except it feels like my transfer was eons ago already. How can it only be 3 days?

Maybe its midterms, or that I’ve been busy with lots of other things. My stepdaughter took her SAT’s today. She’s been taking PSAT classes since the summer she finished the 7th grade and she’s now a Junior and 16 years old. I didn’t think it was a good idea either, but her mother is one of those Tiger Mom women, where nothing she does is ever good enough. Don’t get me started. So Stepdaughter is upstairs sleeping it off.

I haven’t been sleeping that well, my mind is restless and uneasy.Which I’m a little worried about. I wanted to meditate today but some our neighbors across the street are having a Mariachi band on their front lawn this evening, as well as a party. Ugh. Not. A. Fan. I have half a mind to blast Leonard Cohen and just base boom them out, but our neighbors to the left of us already hate me so I don’t need to make anymore enemies.

My husband keeps talking to my little goldfish before we go to sleep “You are wanted little Jinyu, and you have been extremely expensive, in fact I could have had a brand new expensive car, so swim, and grow and become a little person.” Which I find to be weird, and sort of charming. I do have to admit, I laugh when he’s said it.

OMG they are starting to sing La Bamba, which is intolerable. I might start blasting to Foo Fighters. The last thing I need is La Bamba as an earworm. If I have just given it to you as one? Well then my work here is done.

 
You’re Welcome.

15 comments on “La Bamba

  1. April says:

    Ha, I love Leonard Cohen. Clomid and provera make me crazy too.

    Grow strong, little goldfish!!

  2. taylor says:

    I knew I liked your for a reason. I fucking love The Foo Fighters.

    • Jeanette says:

      Of course you do! Whats not to love? I used to see Dave Grohl in the morning at The Coffee Bean on Ventura Blvd when I lived in Studio City. Ive seen them live at least 4 times. Love them!

  3. Daryl says:

    You know how I feel about the Foo Fighters. Crank that shit up.

    Very cute that your husband is talking to the goldfish. I know what you mean about it feeling like forever since you were in the stirrups! Hope the rest of your 2ww flies by.

    • Jeanette says:

      Technically mine is only a 9 days wait so I will know by Friday. How are you holding up?

      • Daryl says:

        Meh. I’m sick, so that’s taking some of the focus from what I may or may not be feeling in the uterine area. Still can’t believe it’s another week from tomorrow before I can test.

      • Jeanette says:

        Well, if youre not feeling much, its fine. Lots of people dont feel anything this early. (this is what I keep telling myself) and while I am feeling *something* Im also pretty sure its the progesterone just messing with my head. So, I will wait, and keep trying to not test early.

      • Daryl says:

        Yup. Me, too.

  4. Theresa says:

    Oooo I like the nickname goldfish! (and what your husband said to him/her made me chuckle as well!)

  5. John Markham/Cap Curmudgeon says:

    Taking the SATs as a Junior sounds OK to me. My recollection is of our taking the PSATs as Juniors and the SATs as Seniors; However, so many colleges take early applications that it seems to make sense to have SAT scores ready when she starts Senior Year. If she doesn’t do well, she can retake them.

    I discovered today that schools have widely differing policies to evaluate applicants with multiple SAT scores; some will average up to three, some will take the highest and some will use the most recent. It’s a jungle out there.

    I know I hated taking them because I figured it was one more step to college, which I did NOT want to attend. I had no idea what I wanted out of life but I was sure it wasn’t any more school. (Ironically, when I joined the Navy six months out of high school, I went from Boot Camp to a nine-month school for Electronics Technicians, where I excelled. Go figure.)

  6. Jeanette says:

    Her birthday is at the end of June so technically she was still 12, when she began her prep classes.

Leave a Reply

