Hounds of Love

Yesterday was my first ultrasound. It went well, according to them the embryo is measuring about 5 weeks and 5 days, so I didn’t see a heart beat or fetal pole yet, it’s just too early. Most people see it about 6 weeks 2 days. What I did see was a gestational sac and a yolk sac. According to my Dr everything is “excellent” so far. I will now get a scan every week, until I’m 10 weeks, and then I will have graduated from my clinic and will move onto an ObGyn.
I saw my regular Dr this week and I asked her for a referral to a high risk Ob because of my age. She then said “I have someone really good in mind for you, it will be a good match.” She then proceeded to tell me generally people don’t see a high risk Ob unless they have had a kidney transplant or something equally serious. But that since I was so concerned about the age thing, she would refer me and that it might take some time for my HMO to approve it. They approved it by the time I got to the car so that’s in place should I need it. He wont see me until after I’ve graduated from my clinic.

It’s weird how I expected that my symptoms would be more consistent. But they aren’t. Yesterday For the last few days I’ve been convinced that it died because my boobs were a little less sore, and I haven’t had the nausea that’s been fairly consistent “so far” I didn’t blog about my ultrasound immediately because I’ve been really anxious about it. Last night BLAM! My backs killing me, uterus feels like its stretching Stretch Armstong and saltines and water are all I can choke down. Unless you know, you’re old, chances are you don’t know what a Stretch Armstrong is, but I’m OK with that.

My most obvious pregnancy symptom is I must drink ALL. THE. WATER. I went to a work lunch yesterday and people kept looking at me funny because I didn’t eat much but I drank at least 6 glasses of water just at this one lunch alone. I drink plenty of water normally but now, I’m some sort of nauseated camel. I can smell fruit from 3 rooms away. I can smell BO from about 100 yards and blargle. It makes me gag. Husband says my nose is like a bloodhounds now.Β  Its been warm and windy the last few days so I opened the door to the backyard last night and I could smell the ammonia from the opossum that peed in my side yard last night.

It’s the closest I’ve ever come to having a superpower. While a lot of smells are super disgusting, it’s really weird to be able to identify random things like fruit, or opossum urine or someone who hasn’t uh bathed recently from a football field away.

Next week I hope to see the fetal pole and the heartbeat. Right now the embryo is about the size of a pea and it has a TAIL! Grow little pea, grow! But lets dial it back on the superpower. It’s really weird and sort of unnerving.

25 comments on “Hounds of Love

  1. cassiedash says:

    I think Theresa wrote about this same superpower in her most recent post. Funny, I never was so lucky (or cursed?) in either of my pregnancies. But I’m so glad to hear that everything is looking “excellent.” Fingers are crossed for more excellency at your next u/s. And yes — grow, little pea, grow!

  2. LMC421 says:

    Aaaah!!! I can scream of happiness! Everything you described, I kept smiling and thinking “yup! That was me… Yup, yes, uh huh, check!” OMG Jeanette you are pregnant! next week u will hear and probably see that little flickering heart. It’s like music to your ears and feel such peace. Keep growing little pea! I am so excited for you. I’m glad that you were able to get that referral and I’m sure you will have the best of care for you and the little bubble πŸ™‚

    I just want to hug you!!! (((Hugs hugs hugs)))

  3. Daryl says:

    Yay! So glad everything is looking good and those symptoms keep coming! Can’t wait to hear about that little, flickering heartbeat next week!

    • Jeanette says:

      Hope so! How are you doing? Ive read your blogs, but Im not really getting a sense of how you ARE. So.. how ARE you?

      • Daryl says:

        How am I…hmm…nervous, excited, still worried about the fact that my husband is unemployed. It’s all still sinking in, I think, that we’ll be on the IVF train soon, and once we’re on, there’s no getting off. But the more it sinks in, the better and calmer I feel about it.

  4. Louisa says:

    Great great news! So glad this first u/s went well. I remember the super smell thing—I was going to NYC in July for the first couple u/s– it was BRUTAL!

  5. road2ourbaby says:

    That is great news! I too possess this superpower. My husband CANNOT believe what I’m able to smell. I’ve always thought my sense of smell was above average, even when not pregnant, but this is ridiculous.
    Here’s to another great sono next week! πŸ™‚

    • Jeanette says:

      My normal sense of smell is I think.. normal but this whole superpower thing is insane. Ive never smelled opossum urine before but GAG! Now I know what it smells like.

      Thank you I hope next weeks is as good as this one!

  6. April says:

    Excellent is excellent! I look forward to more good news next week–and maybe a little less superpower?

  7. Belle says:

    So happy your doctor gave you an “excellent!” Such a nice thing to hear after such a struggle, isn’t it?

    I could not hug my husband last night because all I could smell was his gross meat that he ate for dinner. I could also smell the dude 4 feet infront of me at Fedex. It was… unnerving. I don’t really want to smell strangers, thankyouverymuch, but I guess it is going to be my only pregnancy symptom I’ll take it πŸ™‚

  8. disorientata says:

    That’s great, the superpower is a clear symptom!! Good you already had the referral you wanted as well… it’s great to have some good news πŸ™‚

  9. John Markham/Cap Curmudgeon says:

    Happy for you that the ultrasound went well. πŸ™‚

    I got a kick out of reading “It’s the closest I’ve ever come to having a superpower.” My wife has a great sense of smell. She has adopted the persona of Radar Nose and we have fun with that.

    I shower daily, a help if I suddenly need to hide from her.

  10. Jeanette says:

    Thanks John! Showering daily is extremely helpful when trying to save yourself from the bloodhound sense of smell! πŸ™‚

  11. I know what Stretch Armstrong is, and I have to say that calling yourself a “nauseated camel” might just be my favorite thing you’ve ever written.

  12. fiercefrugalfashion says:

    HI Lady…I have been lurking and checking your blog since I deleted my babysocks blog. I am so happy for you. Good luck with everything Momma.

    • Jeanette says:

      Why did you delete it? Ive looked for you and wondered what happened? Are you all right? Is everything ok? Did you move to Scotland?

      Thank you so much, really, Im not out of the woods yet, but Im hoping things will be ok.

      Tell me whats been going on with you and how youre doing!

      • fiercefrugalfashion says:

        I am doing ok. No I didn’t move to Scotland. The TTC blog just got to be too much for me but I am going strong on my FFF blog.

        I would love to talk more about TTCing over email. melinda.mccrary@gmail.com

        Seriously happy for you!!

  13. Louisa says:

    Thinking of you today and hoping you see that healthy little flicker on today’s u/s good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

